• Has your topic been discussed? Check this quick video for search tips. You answer/info might already be waiting!

CB650R Buzzing / Resonance Noise 5.5K to 6.5K RPM ('19 CB650R)

thatyanguy

CB650R ABS
Jul 25, 2020
Riding Since
Hi Guys,

Complete newb and a bit of a mechanical idiot here, hoping someone can help me out. I've done a cursory check and don't believe anyone has posted about this on here, and I'm a bit too dense to make sense of this with the service manual. Know just enough to be dangerous but clearly not enough to fix this myself. Couple of caveats - live in an apartment building, don't exactly have a well lit / usable area to work on the bit.

Was out for a ride yesterday, noticed a strange buzzing / resonance vibration sound come in at around 5.5K RPM. Most noticeable in first gear, bit less in second, barely any in third (though I suspect that's because of general wind / environmental noise drowning it out). It's fairly high pitched, sounds like thin metal vibrating almost. I spent about 2 hours trying to figure it out and this is the information I gathered - hoping someone can comment and guide me to the right direction because it is driving me nuts.

Base information:
1) Bike is a 2019 CB650R, 5,000 kms on the odo.
2) Had it since last year, rode it last summer and now second summer of riding. Just noticed the noise yesterday, was never there before.
3) Bike isn't modded in any way, and generally doesn't get ridden hard - though I do let it rev through to redline here and there in 1st if I find a good empty stretch of road.

On the noise:
1) Doesn't seem to happen when bike is in neutral, though I do notice that the usual engine vibration is a noticeably less pronounced when it's in neutral and just standing still. My guess is that it takes less gas / consumption to get it revving up, which my affect vibration.