• Has your topic been discussed? Check this quick video for search tips. You answer/info might already be waiting!

CB650R 93 gas?

Satilla

CB650R ABS
Feb 17, 2020
After searching the forums I couldn’t find any threads about this. The service manual says 86 or higher for the fuel grade. Does anybody run 93 for better quality? Also, does this cause any problems later down the road for power commanders, ecu tunes, or exhausts?
I’m still fairly new to motorcycles but I’ve ran 93 gas on all of my performance cars as suggested.

OkiCB

CB650R ABS
Sep 23, 2019
Okinawa, Japan
Ran ~95 up until a couple weeks ago. Ran great.
Switched up to ~87 after I actually looked at the manual and saw regular up in there. No appreciable difference except the 500 yen/tank which will certainly add up. I could go elsewhere and save 1000yen/tank, but, eh. Don't trust the fuel there quite as much.
Any piggyback ECUs are going to make it richer for more power from my understanding. Shouldn't be an issue. An exhaust that maintains the cat should be no issue either.

Satilla

CB650R ABS
Feb 17, 2020
Thanks for the reply, I think I might go with 93 unless it’s gonna be detrimental in the long run for a power commander/tune.
Ran ~95 up until a couple weeks ago. Ran great.
Switched up to ~87 after I actually looked at the manual and saw regular up in there. No appreciable difference except the 500 yen/tank which will certainly add up. I could go elsewhere and save 1000yen/tank, but, eh. Don't trust the fuel there quite as much.
Any piggyback ECUs are going to make it richer for more power from my understanding. Shouldn't be an issue. An exhaust that maintains the cat should be no issue either.

OkiCB

CB650R ABS
Sep 23, 2019
Okinawa, Japan
Only thing it's bound to hurt is your pocketbook, mate.