• Has your topic been discussed? Check this quick video for search tips. You answer/info might already be waiting!

CBR650F Rear brake feel

Plague222

CBR650F
Jan 7, 2021
Riding Since
2015 CBR650F non-abs. Just got the bike a few weeks ago. 5300 miles on it. Rear brake seems really weak and has a weird feel to it. Not sure since I'm new to the bike but it just doesn't seem right to me. 1/4 pedal does about nothing, 1/2 pedal start to get some slowing, then 3/4 pedal the pedal has a sort of notchy feel to it, almost like something is binding / sticking. Hard to get full pedal as the feeling just gets goofy so I let off. When backing the bike out of garage, noticed a creaky noise from the back. Went to take apart the brake and found the frame slider / rear spool hitting the caliper and I think it was impeding its movement. Took the slider off to check the brake but the feel is still the same. No more noise though. Took pads out, scuffed surface, cleaned and lubed slider pins and pads / shims. Still same feel. Have not done anything with the pedal yet. Anyone else felt same thing? Any input? Things to check? Thanks in advance!

Plague222

CBR650F
Jan 7, 2021
Riding Since
Well my rotor is definitely tight. I cleaned scuffed and lubed pads, shim, pins, etc and checked piston movement - all seem ok. The noise when backing up came back but seems to be intermittent. When sitting the pedal feels ok - I really only notice the feel / notchyness when riding. I wouldn't think it would be air in the system but I'm not super familiar with wrenching on bikes. I am a car mechanic however. Just doesn't seem to match the symptoms. I could try bleeding though this weekend if you honestly think it might help. I haven't seem anything else on the forums or online that seem to match what it's doing.

baugustine

CBR650F
Staff
May 21, 2016
Ventura, CA