• Welcome - be sure to add your motorcycle to the Showcase!

In love, in Aberdeen, Scotland.

ewganhoff

CB650F ABS
May 19, 2018
Aberdeen, Scotland
I bought it, and I am deeply in love with my 2017 cb650f. It's an ex demo and had 602 miles on it when I took it out for my first test ride. I didn't want a the new cb specifically, I had only really been toying with the idea of getting a new bike.

My biking history(I'm 35 now, btw): I I started riding at 16 and had a string of small bikes over the next few years. I did my full licence when I was 22 and bought a Honda fx650 Vigor(think Dominator with no fairing). I hated it it very quickly. As a young guy with my new big boy licence running out of puff at 90mph was just not cutting it. And it vibrated badly at 80+. So within 2 months I went looking for a bandit 600. I went to the suzuki dealer looking for a £2000 bandit and ended up with a VX800(think suzuki 800cc cruiser v-twin with shaft drive in a naked/UJM chassis). That was a shit bike but I loved it. It would go 115 and sit at 100 all day. The suspension was utter garbage but I had tons of fun smashing around the country roads. I'd had that bike for about a year and a half(20000 miles) when a pal at work told me he had his 99 ZX6R for sale and he would give me £500 off. We went to his at lunch for a test ride and I couldn't give him the money fast enough by the time I got back. The wail of the I4, through the Remus race exhaust, was so intoxicating. And the speed, oh my god the speed! The next year or so of riding went by in a literal blur. I had a few mates with sports bikes and we rode like complete dick heads because it was very hard not to with that riding position and that big fairing making 130 feel like 80.

During this time I had still been living at my dad's, and adding to my small bike stable with a Chinese monkey bike, a Chinese dual sport, and a Honda scv100 Lead.