• Has your topic been discussed? Check this quick video for search tips. You answer/info might already be waiting!

CBR650F Help with Levers

Kingsleh

CBR650F ABS
Apr 11, 2018
Montreal, Canada
So I got my new levers in the mail today. It all seems pretty easy to swap but before I go ahead and break something, I wanted to check here first since it's my first time.
I did read here somewhere that they had to be specific to our bike so that's what I got.

What I'm most concerned about is as follows:

-Should the screw that holds each lever be tight?
-Should I be greasing anything?
-Do I need to undo the clutch cable or will it come right out?
-Is it really as easy as pulling it out and putting the new one in?

I'm probably missing something else but feel free to enlighten me :)

StephaneCBR

CBR650F ABS
May 23, 2015
Montreal, Canada
You can put some grease on the pivot shank, a fine layer only just so its not bare metal. For the clutch side you undo the cable from the engine side to get some play to remove/install lever. I dont know what your levers looks like but if you have an adjuster attach with screw and locknut, make sure the locknut is well tightened because under the vibs of the bike you will loose the cursor; I almost lost mine after couple rides.

Kingsleh

CBR650F ABS
Apr 11, 2018
Montreal, Canada
StephaneCBR @StephaneCBR Yep the new ones are both adjustable and I did notice that the small locknut on one of the adjusters seemed to not have been tightened properly.
Is synthetic grease good? It's what I have access to without buying some so hopefully it's good.

R @Road Hog Thanks, it really does seem easy :D

So I'll try installing them tomorrow when I get home from work and hopefully it will all go well and I'll keep you guys posted on my learning experience. Thanks a bunch :)

miweber929

CBR650F
650 Alumnus
Staff
Feb 13, 2015
Woodbury, MN
Riding Since